No Fault Can Help Your Project Earn Points Toward LEED Certification

No Fault Can Help Your Project Earn Points Toward LEED Certification
2/16/2015 8:00:00 AM

LEED, which stands for Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design, is a green building certification program sponsored by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) that recognizes best-in-class building strategies and practices.

LEED certified buildings save money and resources and positively impact the health of occupants while promoting renewable, clean energy. With 1.7 million square feet of construction space certifying every day, LEED is the most widely used green building rating system in the world. More than 60,000 projects participate in LEED across 150+ countries and territories.

To receive LEED certification, building projects must go through a rigorous process that involves satisfying certain prerequisites and earning points (called credits) to achieve different levels of certification. Prerequisites and credits differ for each rating system, and teams choose the best fit for their project.

LEED Goals

  • Improve Air and Water Quality
  • Reduce Operating Costs
  • Improve Air, Thermal, and Acoustic Environments
  • Enhance and Protect Ecosystems and Biodiversity
  • Enhance Asset Value and Profits
  • Enhance Occupant Comfort and Health
  • Reduce Solid Waste
  • Improve Employee Productivity and Satisfaction
  • Minimize Strain on Local Infrastructure
  • Conserve Natural Resources
  • Optimize Life-Cycle Economic
  • Contribute to Overall Quality of Life Performance

LEED Credits

The purpose of LEED credits is to increase the demand for building products that incorporate recycled content, thereby decreasing the adverse effects associated with manufacturing and extracting virgin materials.

Many No Fault Safety Surface products qualify under LEED credit numbers MR 4.1, 4.2, and EQ 4.1, and can potentially help you earn credits. Here is an explanation of what each entails, along with the point value followed by a list of our qualifying products:

MR 4.1 - 1 point

  • Use materials with recycled content such that the sum of post-consumer recycled content plus one-half of the pre-consumer content constitutes at least 10% (based on cost) of the total value of the materials in the project.
  • The recycled content value of a material assembly shall be determined by weight. The recycled fraction of the assembly is then multiplied by the cost of assembly to determine the recycled content value.

MR 4.2 - 1 point in addition to MR 4.1

  • Use materials with recycled content such that the sum of post-consumer recycled content plus one-half of the post-industrial content constitutes at least 10% of the total value of the materials in the project.
  • Dividing the weight of recycled content in the item by the total weight of all material in the item, then multiplying the resulting percentage by the total value of the item shall determine the value of the recycled content portion of a material or furnishing.

EQ 4.1 - 1 point

  • Reduce the quantity of indoor air contaminants that are odorous, irritating and/or harmful to the comfort and well-being of installers and occupants.
  • All adhesives and sealants used on the interior of the building (defined as inside of the weatherproofing system and applied on-site) shall comply with the requirements of the following reference standards: Adhesives, Sealants and Sealant Primers: South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) Rule #1168.

Rubber Mulch – Our No Fault Rubber Mulch is manufactured from 100% recycled tire rubber and is an environmentally sustainable product that is non-toxic and organically colored with UV protectors.

Rubber Safety Tiles - No Fault Safety Tiles are factory molded 2’ x 2’ tiles made from 100% recycled rubber.

Rubber Timbers - No Fault Rubber Timbers, the latest border system for landscaping and playgrounds, are also made from 100% recycled rubber.

Playground Surface - Our playground surfaces include a cushion layer or impact layer, made of 100% shredded recycled rubber tires.

LEED Project Types

Each rating system groups requirements that address the unique needs of building and project types on their path towards LEED certification. Once a project team chooses a rating system, they will use the appropriate credits to guide design and for operational decisions.

The four project types

  • BD+C: Building Design and Construction
  • ID+C: Interior Design and Construction
  • O+M: Building Operations and Maintenance
  • ND: Neighborhood Development

Within each of the credit categories, there are specific prerequisites projects must satisfy, and a variety of credits projects can pursue to earn points. The number of points the project earns determines its level of LEED certification.

Those that No Fault Safety Surfaces qualify for falls under the "Materials and Resources" project classification. Other projects include location and transportation, water efficiency, energy and atmosphere, and more.

Four Levels of LEED Certification

There are four levels of certification - the number of points a project earns determines the level of LEED certification that the project receives. Certification thresholds are:

  • Certified: 40-49 points
  • Silver: 50-59 points
  • Gold: 60-69 points
  • Platinum: 80+ points

LEED Certification Steps

Bringing a project through the rigorous LEED certification process is meant to challenge project teams and inspire them to be more creative. Here are the steps to certification:

1. Register your project by submitting essential information.

2. Submit your completed, comprehensive certification application through LEED Online and pay a certification review fee.

Once LEED receives the application, it is reviewed by GBCI, a third-party organization. Once approved, LEED certifies your project and measures its performance.

Posted by: No Fault | Tell a friend




© Copyright 2017, No Fault Sport Group LLC. All rights reserved.